The frozen moment Exercise 3.1

Brief :

Using fast shutter speeds, try to isolate a frozen moment of time in a moving subject.
Depending on the available light you may have to select a high ISO to avoid visible blur in the photograph.

Try to find the beauty in a fragment of time that fascinated
John Szarkowski.

Add a selection of shots, together with relevant shooting data and
a description of your process (how you captured the images), to your learning log.

 

Process :

All of these photographs were taken on my trusty D5200 and 18-55mm lens.

As is required in this section I used shutter priority mode and set the ISO to 800.

This left me with little to control depth of field except my distance to subject, sometimes that wasn’t within my control either.

 

Photographs :

55mm. f 5.6  1/1000 th. sec.

55mm. f 7 1/1000 th. sec.

55mm.  f 5.6  1/1000 th. sec.

55mm. f 5.6  1/1000 th. sec.

55mm.  f 9   1/400 th. sec.

 

contact sheet.

 

Research :

Before deciding how to approach this assignment I spent some time looking at other photographers work in this field.

Many of my fellow students seem to have emulated Harold Edgerton and his “aesthetic properties of milk” shot.

This to me is a very pretty but way over done subject.

I also looked at some of Henri Cartier-Bresson’s work along with Robert Capa.

I decided on a street photography style whilst walking around a Fair at Parsons Green in London.

 

Analysis :

As you can see in the contact sheet, many of my images were under exposed and had to be fixed in post processing.

I was so concentrating on keeping a high shutter speed and capturing an image that I quite forgot about exposure.

Also the nature of this crowded enviroment together with my short lens meant that I had to crop in most of my images, something I try to avoid normally; the distances involved in combination with the 55mm. end of my only lens meant that the focussing square in the viewfinder often covered the subject’s head never mind and eye.

I think a 70-200 mm. zoom would’ve been ideal.

I find you have to be careful with subject selection when freezing motion, as can be seen with the Police car, it might well have been stationary.

The best subjects for these turned out to be the ones where motion has to be occurring as in the slide picture.

The lady and her daughter in the cup ride and the woman selling the bubble gun’s are more subtle in their implication of movement.

 

Reflections :

I dislike shutter priority mode more than automatic.

I definitely need more practice with this mode and need to lower my ISO every opportunity I have.

A longer lens and a full frame sensor would’ve helped also.

Author: ashley516543

Mature photography student living in London.

Leave a Reply

